• Ava's Pages
  • Posts
  • Getting Shot At And Parallel Realities

Getting Shot At And Parallel Realities

It was 5.55 AM.

It was 5.55 AM.

I stepped out of my car and started stretching. I suddenly heard loud gun shots echoed nearby. I looked left and spotted a red (wish I knew more about cars to tell you its make and model) crappy car speeding down the street.

On the passenger side was a big (wish I knew more about guns) black gun shooting bright fire out the window.

tah tah tah tah tah tah

The fire blazed in rhythmic bursts as the car got closer. I ran into my car and ducked, but it ceased by the time they drove by.

What the f— do I do?

Should I drive back home and run from my house? I had an 8-mile run so from my house, I would end up in this part of town anyway.

Should I cancel the run and stay inside all day? That didn’t make a lot of sense. How long was I going to stay inside for?

I decided to stick to my plan.

I got out of the car and sprinted as fast as I could onto the other street. It runs along the ocean and parallels where I parked.

As soon as I got on the sidewalk, it was like walking into a different reality. Runners, bikers and dog-owners were bustling as they did every Sunday morning. I saw my friend and yelled her name.

It occurred to me that what I’d witnessed never entered her reality. To her and everyone here, it was a beautiful day to torture your legs.

I decided to leave my reality behind and join theirs. It was a beautiful Sunday morning. And I had the best run I ever did in a long time.

Sometimes, I really wonder if there are limitless realities for us to walk through every second, and if we’re torturing ourselves by staying in the one we know.

Content of the week:

In June, my friend Vince challenged me to write 15 articles a month. So naturally, I aimed for 20+

(18 in june, 5 this month)

Since then, writing has become a lot easier. It feels natural and my resistance has subsided substantially.

Thanks, Vince!

Photo of the week:

Quote of the week:

The universe has no restrictions. You place restrictions on the universe with your expectations.

deepak chopra

(btw, are you on substack?)

—A