Everything's A Little Sentimental

weekly recap #2

This week has been hectic.

We left Ray’s parents’ house after spending 2 weeks with them. 

I’m back in Baltimore to see my mom for a bit, preparing to head back to the island.

In total we spent 5 weeks in the states 

We make 2 trips like this a year.

Our lives changed a lot in the last 2 years.

But our relationships with our parents have changed even more.

We never spent this much time with them when we had traditional jobs. 

Not only that. 

Our time is spent…

differently

It’s weird.

When you are kids, your parents are the people you are most comfortable around.

Maybe even the only people you can be yourself with. 

But you get older. You have things to hide. You have ideas they disagree with.

And day by day, an invisible wall begins to build between you and your parents.

Soon, seeing each other becomes things you do on holidays and celebrations.

And conversations are mostly around work and life updates.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my relationship with my mom.

I’m an extension of her.

Her childhood, her wishes and dreams, her understanding of life…

They are evolving through me.

By studying myself, I understand her more.

By studying her, I see myself in another life.

I have no idea when something I do with her is going to be the last time.

Our last favorite meal together.

Our last argument.

Our last karaoke.

When a painfully ordinary activity will become the memory that gets etched forever in a crevice of my brain.

my favorite dish made by mom called ‘Banh Canh Cua’

Life is weird like that.

You can never know when a moment will be the last.

Or what ordinary object will become the trigger that squeezes the rhythm out of your heart.

So I’ve been making a lot of effort to get to know my mom.

It sounds weird. But the truth is there’s a lot I don’t know about her.

There are a lot of stories I never bothered to listen to.

A lot of questions I never thought to ask.

A lot of vulnerable moments I ran from.

The thing I am most thankful for since quitting my job isn’t new opportunities, working from the beach or finding my purpose.

What I’m most thankful for is the time I have to contemplate on what truly matter in life.

Because I know I would’ve hate so much… to hold on to the last memory of my mom one day…

knowing I haven’t done my best to remove the wall between us.

Content update:

I’ve written one day this week.

I still haven’t figured out how to nail my content process while I’m traveling.

Medium activities have slowed down since I last got my 2 articles boosted 4 weeks ago. (lmk if you want me to share my experience with that)

X activities have picked up since I rebranded. I’ve been curating a list of accounts I most enjoy interacting with, which really helps.

(are you also creating on X? drop your handle in the reply)

Overall, I have A LOT of ideas for content creation moving forward. I can’t wait to get back home to execute them.

Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things

— Robert Brault

Ciao ❤️